Two Own Goals Almost Sink Arsenal On This Day, 8th October 1932

It all seemed to be going swimmingly. 3 – 1 up and on course for a comfortable win before disaster struck. Charlie Jones suffered a “damaged leg“, returning to be a passenger in the eleven – substitutes were still over thirty years away – and to be kicked out of the match. Quite how you describe Herbie Roberts intervention, I don’t know. In this internet age, the lynch mob would be out for him, I am sure.

I can’t recall seeing an Arsenal player score two own goals in the same match but I’m not sure. It isn’t the sort of thing which you readily forget. In fact the only instance of that I recall involved Aston Villa’s Chris Nicholl in the mid-1970s when he scored all four goals in a single game, Leicester City I think, were the opponents.

One thought on “Two Own Goals Almost Sink Arsenal On This Day, 8th October 1932

  1. Charlie Jones had succeeded Tom Parker as captain at the beginning of the season. This was his last game as captain. His injury kept him out until February by which time vice-captain Alex James had done such a good job that it was agreed for him to continue.

Comments are closed.