Arsenal Hit The Top Of The Table On This Day, 17th April 1971

17041971 Newcastle Top Of The Table 1 - 0 p

…by the narrowest of margins. Both Arsenal and Leeds had scored 66 goals, the Yorkshire side had conceded four goals more, 30 to The Gunners 26. It meant Arsenal had a superior Goal Average of 2.54 to Leeds 2.20.

17041971 Newcastle Top Of The Table 1 - 0

One thought on “Arsenal Hit The Top Of The Table On This Day, 17th April 1971

  1. I was there.
    I also have the programme (back in England in at my brother’s house).
    It’s boxed with all my other programmes and kept out of daylight so it doesn’t yellow.
    Discoloured (and folded, torn) programmes are worth far less than a one in mint condition.

    maybe a dodgy scan?…

    Good lineup by the way. For games when we could afford to attack more freely, arguably our best. Though your namesake replacing Charlie against sterner opposition was fine with me.

Comments are closed.